Posted by: tonkatsudelights | March 13, 2008

Remembering Heart

I wonder if anybody (read: kids that were born in the 80’s) knows about Heart? One of the great rock band from the 70’s/80’s. I suppose some of them do. Cos Heart still has hits until the year 1990. So at least they should’ve heard Heart in their primary school days. If they ever.

Celine Dion recently sang one of their biggest hits, Alone. Not surprisingly, some of the kids in the internet forum think that the song is from Carrie Underwood! Just like those who think that Uptown Girl and Mandy are original songs from Westlife.

They never knew Heart. Or Billy Joel and Barry Manilow, for that matter.

If they ever knew Heart back then, they would probably fall in love with Ann and Nancy Wilson, the sisters that are the front of the band. Yes, other members of the band come and go, but Ann and Nancy of course can not be replaced. They are in their 50’s right now, still singing, but obviously do not look in their prime, especially with Ann fighting her weight problem. But back then… man! they were so hot! Rock chick hot!

Just check this out, the power ballad Alone with Ann at the lead vocal, and Nancy playing the guitar. Great song, amazing vocal! Call me old fashioned, but, put the 80’s style aside, I think they’re hot!

I hear the ticking of the clock
I’m lying here the room’s pitch dark
I wonder where you are tonight
No answer on the telephone
And the night goes by so very slow
Oh I hope that it won’t end though
Alone

Till now I always got by on my own
I never really cared until I met you
And now it chills me to the bone
How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone

You don’t know how long I have wanted
To touch your lips and hold you tight
You don’t know how long I have waited
And I was gonna tell you tonight
But the secret is still my own
And my love for you is still unknown
Alone

Till now I always got by on my own
I never really cared until I met you
And now it chills me to the bone
How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone

How do I get you alone
How do I get you alone
Alone, alone

Leave a Reply

Categories

