Posted by: tonkatsudelights | March 26, 2007

My Favorite Chicken Rice

Wee Nam Kee Chicken Rice

No, not the $20 chicken rice at the Chatterbox. Not Boon Tong Kee either.

My favorite chicken rice in Singapore so far is the one from Wee Nam Kee in Novena. The rice is tasty and the roasted chicken is nicely done. It has the right crisp on the skin. I am not a fan of white chicken, btw… except for the one I usually eat in Ipoh. Of course, this is my favorite so far. I heard there is another chicken rice place in Purvis St. that is worth giving a try. I’ll try that when I have more concrete information. 🙂

And for $3.50 a person, it’s so affordable. Compare that to the $20plus rice in Chatterbox. I used to come to Chatterbox and eat it sometimes, but after they changed the management and the chef, the quality started dwindling down. It’s disappointing.

I think chef plays an important part in maintaining the food quality. I read in the Straits Times that Wee Nam Kee pays their head chef in excess of $3,000 per month. Which is meant to keep him there, obviously. It may not sound so high, but for a place like Wee Nam Kee I think it’s appropriate.

I do recall eating at Nude (Indochine restaurant in Wisma Atria) 3 times and the 3 times I ate there the taste is so much different! I ordered the same item on the menu twice and got different result. Later I asked the waiter and he told me that the chef was new or something like that. Changing chefs —> that is the reason why so many restaurants can not maintain their food quality.

My friends say that I am so much into fine dining some of them do not believe that I do enjoy the local fare like chicken rice and bakut teh in their original settings. They are so wrong! I am all into good food, regardless of whether it’s cheap or expensive. Sometimes, the most delicious food is the one you find on the roadside stalls…

Leave a Reply

Categories

